Peters to lead commissioners as chair

by Dalton Carver

The most recent addition to the Board of County Commissioners will take the reins as its chair in 2019. John Peters, who was elected in 2016, took the gavel at Tuesday’s regular session at the Ouray Community Center.
Ben Tisdel, county commissioner, will serve as vice chair in 2019. Tisdel was also sworn in Tuesday morning for another term as commissioner. The independent candidate didn’t face opposition in last November’s election.
Jill Mihelich, Bob Larson, Michelle Nauer, Susie Mayfield and Lance FitzGerald were also sworn into office by Ouray County Judge Zachary Martin Tuesday morning.
Mihelich will replace former county treasurer Jeanine Casolari and FitzGerald replaces Dominic “Junior” Mattivi as sheriff.
The rest of the elected officials will continue to serve in their offices – Nauer as clerk and recorder, Mayfield as tax assessor/collector and Larson as surveyor.