Tipton survives challenge

by Beecher Threatt

Incumbent U.S. Rep. Scott Tipton (R) will serve his fifth term in Congress after beating challenger Diane Mitsch Bush (D) in Tuesday’s election. He will re-join a House of Representatives that has flipped from Republican to Democratic control.
Ouray County favored Bush, who received 57 percent of the county vote (1,788 votes) to Tipton’s 40 percent (1,251 votes), with the Libertarian and Independent party candidates receiving about 3 percent.
District-wide, Tipton got 52 percent of the vote with 159,878 votes compared to Bush’s 133,345.
In a statement late Tuesday, Tipton said, “The 3rd District has been my home all of my life, and I'm honored to have earned the opportunity to continue representing Colorado in the United States Congress. We've achieved many positive reforms for the 3rd District, but there is still work to do, and I plan to continue working hard every day during the next two years to improve the lives of every resident in the 3rd District.”
District 3 covers the entire western third of the state and a part of the southern plains area.
Bush was a Routt County Commissioner until 2012, when she was elected to the state house of representatives and served three terms.